Oh no! I’ve been removed from a Gig I had planned to do or had already completed. Why did this happen?
If the Gig is still available on the map, and you'd still like to complete it, you may re-apply for it (unless you received a message indicating that you should not do so).
Removal from a gig may happen for a variety of reasons. Consider the following:
- Were you unable to complete the Gig within the specified timeframe? If so, our system will automatically remove you when your deadline expires. It's best not to commit to Gigs unless you're sure you can complete them, but we understand that sometimes, life gets in the way. You can see the countdown timer inside the Gig Details screen. If you ever need to, you can withdraw yourself, without penalty. See how here. Please withdraw as soon as you realize you won't be able to complete the gig, so that another Gigwalker can claim it as soon as possible.
- Were you asked to update your work? If you were removed from the Gig after submitting your work, the client may have reopened the Gig and asked you to update your work. You are generally given at least 24 hours to finish the update and click "submit your work" again. If you do not do so, you are removed automatically when the timer runs out, and you will receive a poor rating.
- Was there a restriction listed on the gig? Some have requirements such as: only 1 per person, or you must have a particular Certification before you can be assigned to the gig. In this case, you will see an assignment and then an immediate un-assignment after the system checks against the restrictions.
- Was there some discrepancy between the Gig instructions and the work you submitted? It's important to read the instructions thoroughly. If you did not follow the instructions, the client might have felt it wise to remove you and allow another Gigwalker to attempt the Gig. The client might rate you poorly in this case, so do your best to follow the instructions.
- Did the client send a message with an explanation? You would have received an email notification containing the text of the message, and you may find more details there.
- It's possible that your removal had nothing to do with you, but to some change from the client. If that's the case, please know that this removal will not have any impact on your rating.
If you messaged the Client but did not receive a response, please understand that sending a message to the Client is not enough to hold your gig open for you. The system will still remove you when your countdown timer expires. Some additional information on Gig timers:
When you apply for a gig, you select one of three timeframe choices. A shorter timeframe does increase your chances of being selected. However, the timeframe you select when you apply determines the countdown timer that you will have on the gig. If you select 3 hours, then you only have 3 hours from the time you are assigned to the gig to drive to the location, complete the work, and click "submit your work". Make sure the timeframe extends completely through all the time you will need to submit your work.